Embed from Getty Images

Chelsea slumped to a third consecutive 0-0 draw for the first time in their history, as Leicester proved to be the better side at Stamford Bridge on Saturday.

Captain Gary Cahill started in the heart of our defence, replacing Andreas Christensen. Meanwhile, Danny Drinkwater made way for Tiemoue Bakayoko.

The visitors came out flying and put Chelsea’s defence under pressure early on, with Shinji Okazaki, Jamie Vardy and Marc Albrighton all having shots blocked in quick succession.

Thibaut Courtois produced a stunning save in the 10th minute, when he managed to parry Wilfred Ndidi’s header away with an outstretched arm to keep the score level.

Chelsea struggled to get out of their own half, and a tame shot from Cesc Fabregas was the only real attempt the Blues had in the opening 15 minutes.

Riyad Mahrez and Vardy were both denied by last-ditch blocks from Gary Cahill, who had to come off with a hamstring injury minutes later.

Alvaro Morata, in a bit of a crisis at the moment, produced some magnificent play just past the half-hour-mark, when he charged past everyone down left before he forced Kasper Schmeichel to make a save.

Fabregas had one final attempt before the break, but Leicester’s Danish shot stopper kept Chelsea out once more.

It only took Antonio Conte a good 10 minutes after the break before he made a double change, with Pedro and Willian replacing the disappointing Eden Hazard and Fabregas.

Ben Chilwell was sent off with 20 minutes left to play after receiving a second yellow card. It was exactly what Chelsea needed, with Leicester continuing to search for an opener.

The dismissal didn’t prove to be decisive in the end as Chelsea couldn’t get past a stubborn Leicester defence. Conte’s men have now gone 270 minutes of football without scoring a goal – something has to change quickly.


Chelsea (3-5-2): Courtois; Azpilicueta, Cahill (c) (Christensen 33′), Rüdiger; Moses, Kante, Fabregas (Willian 58′), Bakayoko, Alonso; Hazard (Pedro 58′), Morata

Unused subs: Caballero, David Luiz, Zappacosta, Batshuayi

Booked: Kante 56′, Morata 87′

Leave A Reply